Why Siera Bearchell should be your #lifegoals

Canada’s Miss Universe 2016 is a confidently beautiful woman with a heart and here’s why!

January 2017 is not just the beginning of the year for us Filipinos, it is also the month when the Miss Universe 2016 pageant takes place. This matters a lot to us, not only because we have a candidate to the pageant but also because our country is playing host to the most famous global beauty pageant on Earth!

Admittedly, we are all sad to see Pia Wurtzbach’s reign as Miss Universe end – but if there is one thing that comforts us, it is wanting to see a woman just as accomplished and just as confidently beautiful as she is succeed her.

Enter Siera Bearchell of Canada!

For starters, Siera is not just a beauty queen but an entrepreneur and a runner, golfer and photographer as well. The Saskatchewan resident is not just an aspiring Miss Universe titleholder but an aspiring lawyer as well, who plans to use her law degree for business endeavors and to help the most vulnerable communities throughout the globe.

Her previous pageant experience includes Miss Supranational 2015 where she went home as first runner up. As for her entrepreneurial experience, she currently runs a clothing business called Watered Down Apparel. The beautiful thing about her clothing business is that each item’s proceeds goes to the provision of clean water for 30 days to communities in developing countries.

Most recently, Siera Bearchell posted this on her Instagram account:

I was recently asked, "What happened to you? Why have you gained weight? You are losing points" This was a reference to my body of course. While I am first to say I am not as lean as I was when I was 16, 20, or even last year, but I am more confident, capable, wise, humble and passionate than ever before. 🙋🏻As soon as I started to love who I was rather than always trying to fit what I thought society wanted me to be, I gained a whole new side of life. This is the side I am trying to bring to the @missuniverse competition. The side of life that is so rare to find: self-worth and self-love. We always focus on the things we wish we could change rather than loving everything we are. #missuniverse #bodydiversity #IMG

A post shared by Siera Bearchell (@sierabearchell) on

The Instagram post’s description reads:

I was recently asked, “What happened to you? Why have you gained weight? You are losing points” This was a reference to my body of course. While I am first to say I am not as lean as I was when I was 16, 20, or even last year, but I am more confident, capable, wise, humble and passionate than ever before. 🙋🏻As soon as I started to love who I was rather than always trying to fit what I thought society wanted me to be, I gained a whole new side of life. This is the side I am trying to bring to the @missuniverse competition. The side of life that is so rare to find: self-worth and self-love. We always focus on the things we wish we could change rather than loving everything we are. #missuniverse #bodydiversity #IMG

This is of course, one of the first few times in which a Miss Universe candidate openly spoke about body diversity which is honestly important in beauty pageants just as it is important in the modelling industry or in Hollywood. This is one point that most beauty pageant fans keep missing – it’s the substance of the candidate that matters over how they look like and that is the point that Siera is showing us here.

As cliché as it is, how a candidate carries herself during the Q&A portion plays the bigger impact on whether she comes home with the crown. She can slay the evening gown portion, or the swimwear portion, but if she doesn’t put her best in the Q&A or even as she struts the stage in the entirety of the pageant, her efforts will remain useless.

Siera Bearchell knows that being confident in the body you are in and being able to carry yourself well even regardless of the kind of body you have is what truly matters here – and this is why she is definitely worthy of winning Miss Universe.

Face it, we need more women like her to be role models to the next generation of women, and even to this generation’s women.

And this is why Siera Bearchell is #lifegoals – because the best goal in life is to be able to love and accept yourself for who you are and for the things in yourself that are beyond your control.

Hats off to Siera Bearchell and may she come home with the Miss Universe crown!

Leave a Reply

